South LSCG

Welcome to Local Safeguarding Children Group (LSCG) for the South.

SNC Pictures by Local Residents (7)
The Local Safeguarding Children Groups (LSCGs) are the sub-groups of the Norfolk Safeguarding Children Board (NSCB). Their purpose is to explore safeguarding issues on a local level, enhancing knowledge of the local picture and being a conduit to between the locality and the overarching board. Click here for an information pack about Local Children’s Safeguarding Groups.

This locality webpage provides information about what’s happening in the South of Norfolk with regard to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people. If you would like to get in touch with the Local Safeguarding children’s group or have information you would like to include on this webpage, please email southlscg@norfolk.gov.uk.

South LSCG Membership

Click here to find out who is your LSCG rep.

Click here to access the Members Only section.

Local Events & Training:

Click here for a calendar of events happening in your area.

Locality News & Information

January 2017:
Click here to read the latest Improving Times newsletter which focuses on the south locality.

Click here to see information about free Domestic Abuse Champions Training which is happening in January in South Norfolk.

October 2016:
Early Help Monthly BulletinClick here to see the latest Early Help Monthly Bulletin for October 2016.

May 2016 – South and Norwich localities held their annual workshop for professionals. The feedback from this has been very positive. Professionals from a wide variety of organisations were invited to a free workshop and networking event. In total over 140 professionals spent the morning learning a bit about Youth Mental Health, Child Sexual Abuse, Neglect and the new Thresholds Guide. Early Help and Signs of Safety underpinned the session and we were lucky to have a number of organisations set up ‘market stall’ style displays to showcase some of the work they do. Here are some of the presentations from the day:

South locality has now had its third LSCG meeting; our group has signed off a work plan for the coming year and will focus on Neglect, CSE and Early Help amongst other key safeguarding topics. We have also used our meetings to look at the learning outcomes from some of the Norfolk SCR’s and what we can all do to try and ensure that such issues do not ever arise again. We have been fortunate to have some really interesting guest speakers too.

Locality Information:

Your Signs of Safety Lead’s are:

Lauren Downes – NEHFF – lauren.downes@norfolk.gov.uk
Jordan Burrell – NEHFF – jordan.burrell@norfolk.gov.uk
Gary Hacket – NEHFF – gary.hackett@norfolk.gov.uk
Sue Freeman – NEHFF – sue.freeman@norfolk.gov.uk
Mandy Marriott-Sims – Lead for Early Help South – mandy.marriott-sims@norfolk.gov.uk

Your Domestic Abuse and Neglect Champions are:

Jo Aston – Diss Children’s Centre
Dr Hilary Byrne – South Norfolk CCG
Pip Feavyour – Children’s Services
Jeanette Ladlow – Children’s Services
Cathy Lambert – Children’s Services
Tony Cooke – South Norfolk DC
Lorraine French – South Norfolk DC
David Neville – South Norfolk DC
Mike Pursehouse – South Norfolk DC

Useful Links:

Domestic Abuse Services:
Pandora : www.pandoraproject.org.uk
Leeway Domestic Abuse Services : www.leewaysupport.org
Ormiston : www.ormiston.org
Domestic Abuse Website: www.norfolk.gov.uk/domesticabuse

Well-being Services:
Point-One: www.point-1.org.uk
One to One Project: www.onetooneproject.com
Norfolk & Waveney well-being Service: www.wellbeingnandw.co.uk
Nelsons Journey: www.nelsonsjourney.org.uk

Young People Support Services:
West Norfolk Young Carers: www.westnorfolkcarers.org.uk
Benjamin Foundation: www.benjaminfoundation.co.uk
ASD Helping Hands: www.asdhelpinghands.org.uk
Mancroft Advice Project: www.map.uk.net
Matthew Project: www.matthewproject.org

Housing:
Stonham Homestay: www.homegroup.org.uk

Family Support & Community Services:
Children’s Centres: www.childrenscentres.info
Early Help: www.norfolk.gov.uk/earlyhelp
CAB: www.norfolkcab.org.uk
ASD Helping Hands: www.asdhelpinghands.org.uk

Health:
National Autistic Society: www.westnorfolknas.org.uk
Starfish: www.norfolkcommunityhealthandcare.nhs.uk
CAMHS: www.nsft.nhs.uk
NRP: www.norfolkrecoverypartnership.org.uk
Matthew Project: www.matthewproject.org